What Is the Role of Physics in Collision Reconstruction?

• Thread starter CuriousCop
  • Start date
In summary, collision reconstruction is the process of using physics to analyze and determine the events that led to a collision. Physics is crucial in this process as it provides the necessary laws and principles to understand how objects move and interact with each other. Measurements play a significant role in providing data for the reconstruction, and technology aids in accurately measuring and analyzing evidence. However, there are limitations to the use of physics in collision reconstruction, such as human error and other variables that cannot be accounted for.
CuriousCop
How did you find PF?
Google search
Hello all,

First off, thank you for taking time out of your no doubt busy schedules.
A little background, I am a police officer in SC. . . . .yes I can hear the wheels turning in your brains.
I have a run of the mill Associates Degree and working on a Bachelors.

This being said, I am without a doubt clearly not as smart or educated as most of you on this forum( it is very difficult not to type "ya'll").

Please forgive my grammatical errors and have patience with me. I am here to learn more about everything in the physics world. I have recently found a love for astronomy, quantum physics ( my favorite is field theory but that may be bc its easiest to wrap my brain around and Sean Carroll is very adept at explaining things well in his lectures).
I am part way through becoming a certified collision (vehicle) reconstructionist and have used math that I never thought I was able to understand. I realize that this is simple physics(drag coefficient, force and mass equations, classical Newtonian mechanics) but I find it exciting!
I would have never thought that the feeling of completing a math question with 5 pages of equations to find a few simple values would feel so fun!