Laser Physics or Artificial Intelligence

In summary, the person is interested in engaging in scientific activities but is having trouble choosing between Laser Physics and Artificial Intelligence. However, they have heard that AI can be boring and they do not like studying math in large quantities. The expert suggests that the person may not enjoy either field and that studying math is necessary for any scientific activity. They also mention that not all biology requires math.
ahs
Hello.
I have a bachelor degree in physics and I'm an embedded programmer now.
I would like to engage in scientific activities, but I can't choose the area: Laser Physics or Artificial Intelligence (Machine Learning, Pattern Recognition...).
I heard opinion that artificial intelligence - the area is quite boring, mainly related to the meticulous study of algorithms or "primitive selection of parameters for algorithms and preparation of input data for them."
By the way, I do not like studying mathematics in large quantities.

Physics news on Phys.org
ahs said:
like studying mathematics in large quantities.

Then I believe you will enjoy neither Laser Physics or Artificial Intelligence.

The fact that you have listed two fields with so little in common suggests that you like the "idea" of these fields but you really know nothing about them. Do you research than follow what interests you.

ahs said:
I would like to engage in scientific activities
By the way, I do not like studying mathematics in large quantities.

Sorry, but those two statements are just contradictory.

You can't "engage in" any form of "scientific activity", except for reading pop-sci books, without "studying math in large quantities".

AlephZero said:
Sorry, but those two statements are just contradictory.

You can't "engage in" any form of "scientific activity", except for reading pop-sci books, without "studying math in large quantities".

unless you are doing biology or chemistry (at least some chemistry).