What job is better Theoretical Physics or AI?

In summary: A clarification, I'm a theoretical physicist, I started in high energy and cosmology. But now I work on soft matter physics, I think a field like soft matter does not have a lot of the objections that...That's a tough question, you can be thinking about it for years (I have, at least a version of it). Thinking about these things in the abstract is very hard, and very misleading. It's misleading because the high level aspects of a field like theoretical physics may not be highly correlated with what you will actually be working on and what problems you will be solving. I'm a theoretical physicist, I got into the field thinking I wanted to work on the "theory of everything" , but I
Gjmdp
Recently, I've been struggling with this issue. I really really love theoretical physics and mathematics, but at some point, I feel like it has now become into a mix of speculation and super advanced mathematics. The fact that some physicists say some areas like String Theory or Quantum Loop Gravity are overpopulated sound to me like crazy: Can a "theory of everything" be overpopulated? what if that theory is right?