If I can spare one or two hours daily (how to improve my higher math skills)

In summary: It also suggests that it is possible to have basic mathematical maturity but still struggle with new mathematical topics. The key to improving mathematical maturity may be to apply math to real-world problems and to seek help from others, such as a professor or mentor. Another suggestion is to participate in online forums like this one, where individuals can help each other and learn together.
A.Magnus
Question: If I can spare one or two hours daily for my own, what would you suggest to improve my math maturity? I am referring to higher math, not computational math.

Here is my little background: I am a HS calculus teacher by profession. Since I picked up graduate math study one year ago, I have been discipline in setting aside at least one hour each day to read and do proofs, especially in abstract algebra since I was told that it is the backbone of all other branches. I do see small improvement in maturity, but I would like to see more.

This thread is prompted by @mathwonk 's response to my posting in abstract algebra forum. Thank you very much for your time and suggestion.

Physics news on Phys.org
Question: If I can spare one or two hours daily for my own, what would you suggest to improve my math maturity? I am referring to higher math, not computational math.
Help others.

Simon Bridge said:
Help others.

I agree. You don't really know a subject unless you can teach it to others.

However, you are already a teacher!

Here's a thought, if you are only doing math, your maturation process will be slow. However, if you start applying your math to things of importance, I believe that's when your maturation will increase.

What I mean by that is to use math to solve real world problems. As an engineer myself, math seems fairly easy to me. However, setting up the math for a specific problem is always the challenge.