How Can I Improve My Note-Taking Skills for Science and Math Courses?

• Thread starter bacte2013
  • Start date
In summary, the rising sophomore wrote to seek advice on efficient note-taking skills. She found that she does not have efficient note-taking skills because she spends several hours writing down everything the lecturer said. She has a new strategy of using the textbook as a notebook and writing only the major concepts and confusing portions into it. She plans to use the textbook's corresponding chapter(s) to write the notes into. She thinks summarizing and condensing definitions can be useful for revision. She does not take notes in math classes.
bacte2013
Hello!

I am a rising sophomore with majors in a microbiology and mathematics. I wrote this email to seek out your advice on the note-taking skills, as I recently realized that I do not have the efficient note-taking skills. I tend to write almost everything my lecturer said (especially in chemistry and calculus), event though I know I only have to write the major concepts and uncleared portions. However, I feel like I have to write the instructor said, like writing down every examples with solutions the lecturer poses. Plus, I also write the notes from my textbook to the notebook. My note-taking skill became inefficient for me, as it costs several hours. I just planned new note-taking strategy for me, and I would like to get your inputs and other suggestions you have.