Need advice for Low GPA / Good Research / HEPth PhD application

beatji
Hi, I'm an international student and I am planning to apply for HEPth PhD in the US in 2026.
I'm afraid I won't get accepted anywhere because it is too competitive.

I have a low GPA in undergraduate courses and there are 2 schools since I transferred to another Uni.

In detail,
#First school- overall 2.75, physics-related 3.17 (4.0 scale)
I studied engineering here. In my country, GPA is not important to transfer. Most schools have their own "transfer exams" such as Math (calculus, linear algebra, differential equations.. etc) and English. So I focused on the exam and got accepted to a popular Uni in my country. This is why I have a low GPA and a low GPA doesn't mean I'm bad at math since I got a good grade on the transfer exam.

#Second school (good reputation in Engineering) - overall 3.58, physics 3.45 (4.0 scale)
I also studied engineering here and have a minor degree in physics. I took CM 2, EM 1/2, QM 1/2, SM1, and GR.
I got mostly B here but A in GR and EM2. However, It was kind of an overload for me since I decided to study physics when I was in 4th year. So I had to take all those physics courses only in 1 year. Moreover, I published 1st author paper in Engineering in this period so I don't have much time to study physics.

#Grad school in physics
I got 4.0! (But it is true that grad school gives relatively good grades.)
I studied physics in the same school for M.S. degree. I took CM, QM, SM, and GR for grad courses, and also particle physics, non-relativistic QFT 1/2, and CFT 1/2. Finally, I was able to focus on studying physics and got a good grade.
I also have 2 co-author papers in JHEP and IJMPA and recently submitted 1st author paper in PRD. (AdS/CFT, Holographic Entanglement Entropy)
I'm planning to submit 2 more papers to compensate for my low undergraduate GPA.

* For summary,
1. I studied engineering and got bad grades in the first school. (overall 2.75, physics-related 3.17)