Highschool Student Struggling to Understand Doppler Effect Paper

In summary, the speaker is a high school student interested in astrophysics and is trying to understand a paper by Dr. Sophia Cisneros on the Doppler Effect for light emitted from an accretion disc of a black hole using Kerr metrics. They are seeking help due to difficulty understanding scientific jargon. They also mention wanting to do an informational interview with the author. However, the expert notes that the paper is beyond the scope of high school level and offers to provide some assistance depending on the information needed.
inspacewithcallisto
TL;DR Summary
I need help understanding an article about the Doppler effect for light and black hole physics.
I'm a highschool student learning about astrophysics, and I'm trying to understand this paper by Dr. Sophia Cisneros because I find it interesting and I want to do an informational interview. The problem is, I just have really bad reading comprehension, especially with all the scientific jargon I don't know. It's on the Doppler Effect for light, emitted from the accretion disc of a black hole using Kerr metrics. Could anyone help out?
https://academic.oup.com/mnras/article/448/3/2733/1106963

Likes vanhees71
Astronomy news on Phys.org
inspacewithcallisto said:
I'm trying to understand this paper by Dr. Sophia Cisneros because I find it interesting and I want to do an informational interview. The problem is, I just have really bad reading comprehension, especially with all the scientific jargon I don't know. It's on the Doppler Effect for light, emitted from the accretion disc of a black hole using Kerr metrics.
That's a fairly advanced paper for where you are in school right now. Do you understand the Doppler effect for sound already? If so, do you have an idea why the paper talks about both motional Doppler effects and gravitational Doppler effects for the light emitted?

Likes vanhees71