Energy conservation in Doppler (NOT cosmological) redshifts?

In summary, the energy in an expanding universe is not constant, but it can still be conserved with extra places for energy to come from and go to.
Amaterasu21
TL;DR Summary
There are lots of popular explanations for whether or not energy is conserved in an expanding universe. But what about Doppler shifts in a stationary space? Where do photons lose their energy to (redshifts) or gain energy from (blue-shifts)?
Hi all,

My question is about Doppler redshifts, but I'm going to mention cosmological redshifts first because I'm a lay person as far as cosmology's concerned (I'm an amateur astronomer and did a few introductory astrophysics/cosmology courses at university, but my degree focus was planetary science, and I haven't formally studied GR at all) and I want to make sure I've got my ideas about how it relates to conservation of energy right. If I've got anything wrong, please let me know! If you just want to see my question on Doppler shifts, skip to the last two paragraphs. I'll put all the cosmology stuff in green so you know what to ignore.

As I understand it, in an expanding Universe where the scale factor R increases, the density of matter drops off by R3 as you'd expect. However, the density of radiation drops by R4 (due to the frequency of photons getting lower through redshift) and the density of dark energy remains constant. A naive look at that suggests energy is not constant - radiant energy is being destroyed while dark energy is being created.

Based on the popular articles and videos I've seen, to take just three examples:
this one from Ethan Siegel:
this one from Sean Carroll: https://www.discovermagazine.com/the-sciences/energy-is-not-conserved
this video from Nick Lucid:

cosmologists' responses seem to fit into two categories: