The doppler effect and time dilation context

In summary: light is not moving directly at the observer in the diagram because the observer is moving relative to the light source.
ssope
I'm having a hard time understanding some things regarding the doppler effect. Please excuse my Microsoft paint diagram, I'm no artist.

http://img686.imageshack.us/img686/3949/diagram.jpg
http://img686.imageshack.us/img686/3949/diagram.jpg"

Given this scenario, which equation/approach would yield the most accurate results:
[A] Special Relativistic Equation for Radial Doppler Shift
or [B] Classic / Newtonian Equation.

I'm under the impression that the primary difference between the special relativistic equation for radial doppler shift and the Newtonian equation is the time-dilation term, (please correct me if I'm under the wrong impression). Additionally, does time dilation come into play in this scenario? I'm still having a hard time understanding the exact contexts in which time dilation occurs.

Another reason I ask this question is because of the anomalous doppler observations in pioneer 10 and 11 [ http://renshaw.teleinc.com/papers/pionee2/pionee2.stm ]

Last edited by a moderator:
Physics news on Phys.org
ssope said:
I'm under the impression that the primary difference between the special relativistic equation for radial doppler shift and the Newtonian equation is the time-dilation term, (

True
Additionally, does time dilation come into play in this scenario?
It does in every scenario involving relative motion.
The observer is not"standing perpendicular to the radial velocity of light's propogation"
At the point in your diagram to calculate the redshift you'd use
z=sqrt.(1+b/1-b) -1
where b=v/c, v is the tangential velocity of the bulb.
See derivation http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Relativistic_Doppler_effect"
You'd use transverse shift when the sorce is moving perpendicular to the line of sight.

ssope said: