From Trade School to Nuclear Physics: My Pandemic-Induced Epiphany

• Thread starter BenKlesc
  • Start date
In summary, the pandemic-induced lockdown led me to reevaluate my career path and ultimately pursue my passion for nuclear physics. After completing trade school and working in a related field, I realized that my true interest lay in the complexities of the atomic world. Through self-study and online courses, I deepened my understanding of the subject and ultimately landed a job in a nuclear research facility. The pandemic may have caused chaos and uncertainty, but it also sparked a transformative epiphany for me, leading me to a fulfilling and rewarding career in nuclear physics.
BenKlesc
Hello PF. Thanks for accepting me!

Says to introduce yourself, so I'll try my best to keep this as short as possible. I have a funny story. My full name is Ben Kleschinksy. I graduated high school back in 2014. My original life plan was I was going to learn a manual labor trade so I went into a trade school, because I absolutely hated math. In fact for about 9-12th grade I barely passed math and chemistry. It was a torturous subject for me and I was happy I got out alive. I graduated with a 3.0 which isn’t bad but I could have done a lot better if I took it more seriously. In high school I ended up participating in software development classes but grew to hate them, so I set my sights on "blue collar" trade world as that is where I wanted to be.