Exploring the Frontiers of Physics: An Amateur Scientist's Journey

pjwetzel
How did you find PF?
Google search for a specific question
... and I got an amazingly straightforward answer written by a PF mentor. I was so excited that I registered an account here and immediately wrote a post to discuss the mentor's information, to make sure I understood it correctly. But I also extrapolated the ideas into the area of 'personal speculation'.

Wham!

Well, so when I got over the shock, I took the time to read the rules (Yep - the classic case) and to delve into the policies in greater depth.

So obviously I'm still a newbie - still have plenty to learn about the culture here, and whether this is the right place for me. I'm excited to see what sort of discussion this post produces, for starters.

Here's my story (a little bit about me). I'm a 75-year-old retired PhD NASA research Atmospheric Scientist (google Peter J. Wetzel NASA for credentials), so obviously I have a sound science background and have plenty of peer-reviewed published papers of my own. But they're Atmospheric Physics papers, and that is an area that might be considered 'soft science' by the physicists who do Cosmology, General Relativity, quantum field theory, etc.

Bottom line is that I'm a very interested hobbyist, not conversant with the more esoteric math behind most of the modern work in those core Physics fields. But I have an abiding curiosity and interest to understand, in particular, our 'Creation Story' (I use this term deliberately because the origin of our observed reality is still firmly rooted in unknown territory). Science seems to have settled solidly on the Big Bang model as the best, most self-consistent theory we have, but what really lights my fire are the unsolved problems at the frontiers of knowledge.

T.H. Huxley wrote, in 1887: