Worried about Physics in a Community College

• Thread starter Jacobalg
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Physics
In summary: RateMyWhoeverTheyAre reviews will not be reliable, as well as being unfavorable. Just focus on understanding the material and practicing problems. Good luck!
Jacobalg
This is my first year physics course in a community college and i am taking " Calculus based Physics" and i am already stressed out even though the course has not even started yet. There is only one Teacher teaching it and his ratings on rate my professor are horrible he got a 2.4. I have talked to some students and they said that i have to put in a lot hours for this teacher. The last physics class i have ever taken was in a high school and i don't remember anything. Can you guys give me any tips on how to study for the class and has anybody had a similar experience with a similar type of teacher and passed with an A.

Physics news on Phys.org
As long as the textbook is good and the teacher isn't trying to test beyond the text, I wouldn't worry about it too much. I find that a poor textbook is a far bigger problem than a poor teacher.

The beginning Calculus-based Physics course is hard, no matter who teaches it. Worrying is useless. Just study hard. Most students in this course do not want or like it, so you would expect any RateMyWhoeverTheyAre reviews will not be reliable, as well as being unfavorable.

Jacobalg said:
they said that i have to put in a lot hours for this teacher.

I think you could have the best possible teacher ever, and you would still need to put in a lot of hours. Physics takes effort.

It is my opinion that, in physics, you will be your own teacher; and your "real teacher" is just an aid to help you to help yourself.
(This is my opinion for fundamental/basic physics. I cannot speak for advanced physics.)Edit:
I second symbolipoint's post