How to improve graduate school applications after college?

Unitary_operator
I graduated 2 years ago with a degree in astrophysics. I went to a top school (depends on the source but top 3-5) but didn't do well or participate in research, I focused more on education and teaching. I've worked the past two years (one year as a physics teacher, the other as a data analyst) and took classes from a local university this year to improve my GPA and get letters of rec (perfect grades in classes so far). Since I am paying out of pocket for these classes I don't want to take any more than I have to.

I applied to graduate school (master's programs), both through my local state school system (CSU) and the APS bridge program (I am a low-income, first gen, underrepresented minority) but I am not hopeful since I wasn't contacted for interviews and the first wave of acceptances has already passed. I'm not surprised but unsure how to improve my application. I've tried asking for research but I was told I need to be accepted into their program before I can do that, but to get in it seems I need research experience. I similarly didn't have great luck in industry (it took a long time to get my current job, and even then, it's not glamorous by any means). Part of my reasoning for pursuing graduate school is that I couldn't really find anything in industry (the other reason being I genuinely like physics and want to learn more).

I've thought about applying to labs at schools as a lab technician or something just so I can physically be in one, but most of the jobs I've seen for this are in bio labs so I am not sure if this would be helpful for me or if I would find similar difficultly getting one of these positions.

What would be the best way to improve my application for the next cycle? More classes? Trying to get a more relevant job? Something else? Any guidance is appreciated since I seem to be in a catch-22 in both industry and academia.

Likes symbolipoint
Physics news on Phys.org