Which software is best for PIMD simulations: PINY or CPMD?

In summary, PINY and CPMD are both widely used software for performing PIMD simulations, each with its own strengths and limitations. PINY is known for its efficient handling of large systems, while CPMD is favored for its accuracy and versatility in handling various types of simulations. Ultimately, the choice between the two depends on the specific needs and preferences of the user.
corydalus
I am planning to do some simulations using path integral molecular dynamics approach. I have never used it before, so I would like to have some information concerning packages that are used for that kind of simulations.

I am aware of PINY and CPMD packages for PIMD. Which one is better? Are there any others? What was your experience using these?

Thank you in advance.

Physics news on Phys.org
'Better' is pretty subjective, not least with MD. Your results will be as good as your model and parameters, etc, more or less. It's really more an issue of which software has better features, or the features you need. There are benchmark studies out there though.

I haven't used either; but I've used http://ambermd.org/" , which I know has PIMD methods.

Last edited by a moderator:

As a scientist with experience in PIMD simulations, I would recommend using both PINY and CPMD for your simulations. Both packages are widely used and have their own strengths and weaknesses.

PINY (Path Integral NY) is a powerful and user-friendly software package that is specifically designed for PIMD simulations. It offers a variety of features such as efficient parallelization, multiple thermostat options, and a user-friendly interface. It also has a large and active community, making it easy to find support and resources.