What is the relationship between time and the 4th dimension?

In summary, my definition of time does not match the commonly accepted definition and it seems a bit flawed. Can anyone please help me understand what I am missing?
Audax Dreik
Hello, this is my first time posting, I do hope I've found the right place.

I have relatively no knowledge of physics but am about to minor in it in college. The questions and ideas I am about to set down concern time, an issue of which I again know very little.

While sitting idle one day it occurred to me that I wasn't really aware of what time was, I had no definition for it and was only vaguely aware of it's concept in enough to understand the importance of it's passing. After much thought I came up with a definition which in all logic seems correct to me however it appears to go against the idea that time is the 4th dimension. The definition I was able to come up with is as follows:

"The change in the relative positions of all objects in a dimension due to the exertion of energy."

The first point: Time necessitates change, does it not? For how else would it be said to be passing?
The second point: Time must include all objects and their relative positions to one another. If all objects maintain the same relative positions then nothing is changing and that would mean there was no passage of time as indicated by the first point. At the instant one object moves time occurs because that causes an instant change in the positions of all other objects relative to itself.
The third point: Time occurs within a dimension because it's passage is dependant upon the change of the already physical dimensions of the objects.
The fourth point: I don't know what brought about the mentioning of the exertion of energy being the cause of it all, it seems relevant.