What is the correct eigenvector for lambda=4 in [8 -10;2 -1]?

In summary: So I guess that's it then.In summary, the conversation is about finding eigenvectors for a given matrix and discussing the preference for using integers or unit eigenvectors. The concept of mutually orthogonal unit eigenvectors is also mentioned and the conversation ends with the conclusion that the dot products of these vectors equal zero.
jd1828
I am studying for a test that I have today and just need a quick anwser. the problem is find the eigenvector of [8 -10;2 -1] where ; means skip to a new line. So I get lamda=4,3 then try to find eigenvector for lamda=4. I get the vector [5/2;1] which works but the anwser in the book is [2;5]. Both anwsers seem to be right but is there some rule to say that the book anwser is better.

Physics news on Phys.org
jd1828 said:
I am studying for a test that I have today and just need a quick anwser. the problem is find the eigenvector of [8 -10;2 -1] where ; means skip to a new line. So I get lamda=4,3 then try to find eigenvector for lamda=4. I get the vector [5/2;1] which works but the anwser in the book is [2;5]. Both anwsers seem to be right but is there some rule to say that the book anwser is better.
Eigenvectors are always determined up to an arbitrary (non-zero) multiplication factor. The book apparently preferred not to have fractions but the smallest possible integers, which is usually done. Both are fine though :smile:

its answer doesn't have any fractions in it, that is considered better, just as you should replace 1/sqrt(2) with sqrt(2)/2. Its answer is also valid even if we only consider vectors with entries in the integers (which we may want to) so it is more general. Your answer is fine if we remember that we CAN divide by two, but it holds in greater generality than that.