What could be causing my swollen and painful ankle?

• Thread starter mailman's kid
  • Start date
In summary, the speaker is a Pastry Chef who has recently started walking and doing yoga to improve their health. However, they have developed severe pain and swelling in their ankle/foot, leading them to seek medical advice. The first doctor they saw did not thoroughly examine their condition and advised them to rest and take anti-inflammatories, but the speaker is unsure if this is the right course of action. They are considering seeking a second opinion.
mailman's kid
I don't have a lot of time or money to waste on the grand doctor hunt of 2011, so I have decided to ask the people their opinion and go from there... here is my story... I have been a Pastry Chef for a little over two years now so standing for 10 to 16 hours straight isn't uncommon or anything new to me. In the beginning there was some pain in my feet but with proper shoes and insoles everything has been good. Being that I am overweight, I finally got to a point where enough was enough and I started walking 5 months ago. Slowly I have been adding more and more length to my walking and have started doing yoga as well. I now take a 5 mile walk a day, taking my time with a slow and steady pace. Now, here is where I would like your opinion: a week ago, towards the end of my shift at work, I noticed my ankle/foot was starting to hurt, but since I had just has a couple days off I chalked it up to getting back on my feet. Then, through the process of finishing out my day and running errans, it just got worse and worse, to the point where I was starting to limp and was unable to put all my weight on it. When I finally got home and sat down, I looked at it and it was extremely swollen, at least three times the size of my other ankle. Concerned, I went to a clinic to see if I should truly be concerned or if I just need to rest a couple days. The doctor took x-rays but hardly asked anything about me, my lifestyle