What are the top programming languages and games for aspiring game developers?

• Thread starter Black_Majiks
  • Start date
In summary, the top programming languages for aspiring game developers include C++, C#, and Java, as these languages are widely used in the gaming industry and offer a variety of features and libraries for game development. As for games, Unity and Unreal Engine are popular choices for game development, as they provide powerful tools and resources for creating both 2D and 3D games. Other notable games for aspiring game developers to learn include JavaScript-based game engines like Phaser and PixiJS, as well as game development platforms like GameMaker Studio and RPG Maker. Ultimately, the best programming languages and games for aspiring game developers will depend on their specific interests and goals in game development.
Black_Majiks
I am an aspiring computer scientist, software developer, and game developer. I like to play video games and learn new things. My favorite programming language is C++, my favorite game is Dark Souls, and my favorite movie is probably "Tangled."

Physics news on Phys.org
Welcome to PF!

Have you played with the Unity game engine? It's awesome for making cross-platform games and for working with the Oculus Rift.

jedishrfu said:
Welcome to PF!

Have you played with the Unity game engine? It's awesome for making cross-platform games and for working with the Oculus Rift.
No. Currently I'm undecided on an engine. I was considering beginning with SFML or Unreal

That oculus rift bit is about to sell me though. I want to make a VR puzzle

Unity has been gaining a lot of traction especially because you write the game once and you can generate versions for a lot of platforms.