What are the benefits of uncovering first principles in engineering and design?

• Thread starter Pkiani
  • Start date
In summary, uncovering first principles in engineering and design allows for a deeper understanding of fundamental concepts and allows for more creativity and innovation in problem-solving. It also leads to more efficient and cost-effective solutions, as well as the potential for breakthrough advancements in technology. By breaking down complex systems into their basic elements, first principles thinking can lead to more accurate and reliable predictions and designs. It also encourages critical thinking and challenges conventional thinking, leading to new and improved solutions that may have otherwise been overlooked. Ultimately, the use of first principles in engineering and design can lead to significant benefits and advancements in various industries.
Pkiani
Hi everyone!

I'm a sophomore in college, currently taking electromagnetism as the second class of my mandatory physics circuit prior to transfer. I am majoring in electrical engineering (and potentially CS depending on where I transfer) and my hope is to someday build wonderful and innovative things for the world.