Understanding Exact vs. Closed Forms for Mechanical Engineers

In summary, as a mechanical engineer trying to make up for a poor math education, I have come across the terms "closed" and "exact" in my self-study of differential forms. Closed forms are those whose exterior derivative is 0.0, while exact forms are the exterior derivative of another form. These terms are important because they help us understand the relationship between forms and their derivatives, and can be applied in various fields such as physics where they can represent conservative forces and potential functions. However, not all closed forms are exact, as demonstrated by counterexamples such as the Dirac magnetic monopole.
observer1
(I am a mechanical engineer, trying to make up for a poor math education)'

I understand that:
  1. A CLOSED form is a differential form whose exterior derivative is 0.0.
  2. An EXACT form is the exterior derivative of another form.

And it stops right there. I am teaching myself differential forms. And as I ratchet up my understanding, I encounter these words--closed and exact--but I am not yet comfortable with their use.

As a result, I MEMORIZE the two words and their definitions. I do this to get through some rough spots as I continue to learn. But now I am at a point where I am hungering to know why these words matter.

It would help me, I think, if I knew WHY those words were used. In other words, I just just as easily have written:
  1. A TOMATO form is a differential form whose exterior derivative is 0.0.
  2. A POTATO form is the exterior derivative of another form.
Please forgive my sarcasm, but I am trying to get BEYOND memorizing the words. Why were those two words chosen?

And, if you can, answer in terms of pure theoretical math AND, if possible, with a meaningful (perhaps physical for a mechanical engineer) example.