Roadmap to Electrician apprenticeship

• Thread starter supernova1203
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Electrician
In summary, the best way to become an electrician is to pursue a formal apprenticeship program, which may include taking college courses related to the electrical trade.
supernova1203
I'm a current high school student, thinking about becoming an electrician, i understand you have to get an apprenticeship in order to become an electrician, what is the roadmap or the process to get an apprenticeship? Do i go to college and study in a program like "Electrical Engineering Technician" (http://www.centennialcollege.ca/Programs/ProgramOverview.aspx?Program=3822) or

a co-op program through college like "Electrician, Construction Maintenance" (http://www.centennialcollege.ca/Programs/ProgramOverview.aspx?Program=4501)
in other words, do i have to go through college in a program that will teach me the theory and practice of the field and then apply for an apprenticeship, or can i just go straight into an apprenticeship straight out of high school?? So far from what i have seen, i have the required courses and marks for any of these college programs as well as apprenticeships,

any guidance would be greatly appreciated, thanks :)

(normally i would just ask the colleges or the guidance counselors but its the weekend here (long weekend) and no one is picking up the phones

Physics news on Phys.org
)The best way to become an electrician is to pursue a formal apprenticeship program. You should contact your local electrical union or apprenticeship board to inquire about apprenticeship opportunities in your area. It is also beneficial to look into any apprenticeship programs offered by local employers. You can also look into taking college courses related to the electrical trade as part of an apprenticeship program. Taking college courses related to the electrical trade can give you an edge when applying for apprenticeship positions.