Should I apply to Physics PhD programs?

In summary, the speaker is a senior at UC Davis and is considering applying to grad school. They have a good GPA and a minor in Pure Math, but lack research experience and strong letters of recommendation. They are interested in theory and are unsure of which subfield to focus on. They are wondering if grad schools will consider their unique circumstances and what tier of schools they should apply to. The expert suggests focusing on schools one tier down and considering hidden gems in departments.
decisivedove
Hi,
I am a senior at a large research public university in the US (UC Davis). I really want to go to grad school but I am not sure if I should apply this year. I am only 19 years old (I graduated high school with an associates in physics) so this is only my second real year of college and I graduate with my BSc in Physics at the end of this academic year. I have a 3.76 GPA with straight As in my upper-division physics classes (my GPA would be a lot higher but I received a C+ my very first quarter. I have only gotten straight A's since then). I will also graduate with a minor in Pure Math. Problem is: I have zero research experience and I do not know 3 professors well enough to get solid letters of recommendation. My first year of college was basically an adjustment period for me while I was still figuring out a lot of other things being straight out of high school. I can still somehow manage to get 3 letters of recommendations although it will be of low quality. I did however do an internship with JPL so I can potentially include that as work experience, but the internship was online so I did not get to know my advisor well enough for a strong letter.