Quantum-Classical limit of Zonal Harmonics

In summary, the conversation is about a study of spherical harmonics, specifically the zonal harmonics with set m=0. The classical limit for the equatorial harmonics (set m=l) is clear, as the particle converges to a Dirac delta along the equator. However, the speaker has proven that the zonals do not converge to a Dirac delta at the north and south pole, but instead converge to a fixed Bessel function. There is some discussion about the mathematical meaning of this and the possibility of quantum scattering being involved. The speaker also mentions their personal thoughts on the matter and asks if anyone knows why the zonals converge slower.
"pi"mp
Hi all, I'm studying the spherical harmonics, specifically the zonals (set m=0). With the equatorial harmonics(set m=l), the classical limit is pretty darn clear; the particle just accumulates to a Dirac delta along the equator, but I've proven that the zonals don't converge to a Dirac Delta at the north and south pole. They certainly accumulate there, but they converge to a fixed Bessel function instead of a genuine Dirac. Does anyone have any ideas on the classical picture emerging here? I've heard some talk of quantum scattering but I'm really not sure.

My personal thought is that with the equatorials, there is really only one plane perpendicular to the z axis and we know the angular momentum vector converges to the z-axis ==> by symmetry, they must necessarily be "orbiting" in a plane in the limit. However, with the zonals, all we know is that the z component of the angular momentum is zero. But there are infinitely many planes with normals vectors of zero z component. Is there some kind up superposition going on here that's preventing us from getting a genuine Dirac?

Thanks!

Physics news on Phys.org