Patient Lifter Boom design for my ME Senior Project

In summary: Similarly, since the cylinder force is always in the direction of the cylinder, a pinned joint is not needed. This means that there is only one pinned joint needed in the FBD. In summary, the conversation discusses a communication problem regarding the use of the term "fixed" in the design of a crane boom. The solution is to create a free body diagram and show the correct forces and supports. The conversation also touches on the importance of correctly indicating units and lengths in the FBD. The main focus is on correctly identifying the section modulus and considering the piston force in the analysis.
charliebrown
Hello, I'm a student of mechanical engineering and I'm doing a project for my university in order to graduate.
Right now we are doing the design for the boom of the crane but I have some doubts according to the analysis we could say is the FBD part my team says that the beam is considered as fix in 3 parts. the part where it bends, where the piston it's located, and where it's pinned. I don´t think that is correct even our adviser says so but I really don't think so I did the analysis no real measures and no real results it's just an example but I just want to know if the analysis is correct i think it's an easy problem but now I'm doubtful and stressed because we don't have much time to finish the project just one month. could you please see if my analysis is correct. thank you very much in advance!

Attachments

• patient lifter boom design.pdf
    180.1 KB · Views: 321
Engineering news on Phys.org