Can I use a Stirling generator to make electricity from our wood fired stove?

• Thread starter Moochingaround
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Electricity
Moochingaround
TL;DR Summary
I'm trying to come up with an efficient way to make electricity from our wood fired stove. I've come up with an idea evolved from a stirling engine and I need some help with the physics of it.
For the last few weeks I've been breaking my head over an efficient way to make electricity from our wood fired stove. We don't need huge amounts, but about 500 watts would be nice.
I'm a retired engineer and I'm taking this on as a hobby really.
I've gone through various ideas and iterations in my quest to make it more efficient. But now my head is too full with all kinds of parameters to be able to tell if my latest idea is viable haha.
The math and physics has never been my strong point. The numbers just start dancing around in my head.

On to the idea:
Imagine two spaces with equal volume. One is in my fire, the other is water cooled. In between I would have two vane motors. One with double the displacement of the other.
Both the motors are connected with a gear or belt.
When I start my fire I hope to heat up one space at least 400 degrees, so doubling the pressure in there.
Now that pressure drives the bigger vane motor which transports that hot air to the cold space.
While doing that it powers the smaller vane motor, which transports half the amount of air from the cold space to the hot. Where it will get heated up and continue the process.

Am I correct in thinking that in an ideal world this would keep going as long as I have a hot enough fire going?
Am I missing something?

Thank you for your time.

Engineering news on Phys.org
400 degrees should be sufficient to run a Stirling engine, even better if they are Celsius degrees, not the cheap Fahrenheit ones available in the USA.