Lack of Motivation: Tips for Better Studying

• Thread starter ghanar
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Motivation
In summary, the person is struggling with motivation and discipline in their studies, often waiting until right before exams to start studying. They also have a low amount of sleep and spend a lot of time playing computer games and surfing the internet. They are seeking advice on how to improve their study habits and motivation, and also considering the use of drugs or recipes to help with focus and concentration. They are advised to prioritize sleep, limit internet and game time, and find a supportive and honest person to talk to about their struggles. It is also suggested that they explore different disciplines if their major is causing difficulties with motivation.
ghanar
Hello, this is my first topic here.
I'm studying mathematics, this is my 2nd year and I have a problem about studying. In my life, I studied exams just before some days and I know that I should start to study regularly.
These days, I am spending my time with comp. games or surfing on the Internet.
I have 3.3/4 and I will keep it around 3.3
So, what do you suggest, how should I start, should I find a goal ?
(p.s I wake up at 6.30 am and usually sleep at 1.00 am, also generally feel dizzy at school :smile:)

thank you

Physics news on Phys.org
Do you enjoy what you are studying? Do you wake up wanting to go to class, or do you dread it? That could be a factor in why you don't want to study it. It might help if you study in groups too, usually studying alone is much less exciting and fulfilling

I was enjoying studying Number Theory. I came to half of the book and after that chapter, I did not understand theorems, proofs. They were like strangers to me, so, I looked for another proofs but nothing changed. So I stopped studying that. It was just a hobby. I do not like studying Linear Algebra, but I like Analysis and mostly Algebra.