Is Pursuing a Biophysics Degree a Smart Career Move?

• Thread starter jay_harkara
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Biophysics
In summary, the individual is currently pursuing a Molecular Biology major and Physics and Biomolecular structure minor. According to their opinion, the Physics skills will be more beneficial for a Biophysics Masters/Ph.D than the Biology skills. They suggest switching to a Physics major and picking up a Biology minor instead. In terms of job markets, the individual believes that a Biophysics degree may not be as valuable as a degree in Physics, which offers more diverse job opportunities.
jay_harkara
I'm currently an undergraduate student majoring in Molecular Biology and minoring in Physics and Biomolecular structure.

1. Will these skills truly aid me in the path to a Biophysics Masters/Ph.D?
2. Is getting a biophysics degree even worth the time and effort, in terms of job markets in industries other than resarch?

Physics news on Phys.org
jay_harkara said:
1. Will these skills truly aid me in the path to a Biophysics Masters/Ph.D?

The physics will. The bio not so much. I would switch to physics and pick up a bio minor instead.

jay_harkara said:
2. Is getting a biophysics degree even worth the time and effort, in terms of job markets in industries other than resarch?

Honestly, it's hard to say. But I would dare to say probably not. In general a BS in physics would be less likely to "pigeon hole" you so to speak.

Related to Is Pursuing a Biophysics Degree a Smart Career Move?

What is biophysics?

Biophysics is an interdisciplinary field that combines principles and techniques from physics, biology, and chemistry to study biological systems and processes at the molecular, cellular, and organismal levels.

What are the career opportunities in biophysics?