How to surround myself with other physicists/students outside of academia?

In summary: No, I don't believe "open communities" of that type are very popular for "professional" physicists. Typically, you really only have that type of interaction with close collaborators and "forum" type platforms are only used if you are working in a project with many partners.I agree.In summary, I think that the lack of open communities for professional physicists is a contributing factor to the lack of motivation and passion that many people in this field feel.
diegzumillo
Hey, I figured the general discussion would be the most appropriate place for this discussion.

I finished my PhD a couple years ago and moved to my original country. I still keep in touch with my previous adviser as we are still working on my thesis research, which is great. However, because of a number of factors, pandemics included, I'm basically unemployed sitting at home all the time, and noticing how motivating it was to study a subject when you are surrounded by like-minded people, like, say, a physics department. I don't have that anymore and I could really use some alternatives! I find it harder and harder to keep myself updated on my own field or even interest on other interesting papers from other fields. Being alone drains my passion and motivation for physics and I'm afraid it will impact my future career.

When I compare with more popular fields or hobbies I notice how physics as a community is closed! For my game development hobby I participate in weekly online meetings with a group from a city I lived in, an online chat with another group, hundreds of people read a blog I write about and engage with me, a billion people interact about this on twitter. Even Math has an active twitter community which eventually led me to read about categories, just to know what they are on about.