How Do You Care for a Gifted Physicist?

In summary: What are good names for a physicist?Some good names for a physicist could be "Dave," "Professor Plum," or "Einstein."
Math Is Hard
Staff Emeritus
Science Advisor
Gold Member
ok, so my friends gave me the greatest Christmas gift ever - a physicist! But the darn instruction manual is all in Japanese! He's so adorable, and very interactive - more than I expected - but I have no idea how to care for him or what to feed him. Any suggestions? What do they like to eat? What makes them happy? Do they like to be scratched on the belly, or just behind the ears?

Physics news on Phys.org
Heck if I know. Mine is like a damn defective Furrbie. I can tell you where NOT to insert the batteries though.

That sounds really cool.

What's it like? Pictures?

I'll send pics soon. Thank heavens it came pre-assembled! I am so useless with those diagrams!

I'm surprised you assembled a pre-assembled toy!

I would have got lost. I'm not good with toys, unless its Lego's.

Do you suppose I should try to learn its language? (It's very sophisticated and mathematical and I don't even know if I could learn its language. :confused: ) It responds pretty well when I just babble and coo at it in English, and maybe that's enough for basic communication?

Don't worry, anything makes physicists happy.

If you hit them in the head with a brick, they're happy kinetic energy is only equal to 1/2 mv^2.

In the last survey I saw, 9 out of 10 physicists preferred to have their bellies rubbed and scratched behind the ears. They did have some odd dietary requirements though.

do you think he would like frozen brocolli?

Math Is Hard said:
do you think he would like frozen brocolli?
Frozen broccoli was at the top of the list.

Will it be frightened if I try to kiss it? How long should I wait?