How do you deal with not getting proper credit?

• Thread starter Phys12
  • Start date
In summary: If you ARE in research, you should speak to the professor. It sounds like this person is taking credit for work that you did and/or is giving you negative feedback without your consent. This is not acceptable and you should speak to the professor to get a resolution.
Phys12
So, I want to start off by saying that whatever I am observing comes only from me and all of this may just be my perception and me going insane, but one of the things I've learned is a good rule of thumb is, "if something feels wrong, it's probably because it is."

I work in a lab with multiple people, but this one person, in particular, and we usually make our PowerPoint presentations together for our group meetings since we work on the same experiments. Now, it's a common thing that whenever there's a bug in the experiment, either he or I figure out what's wrong with it, but whenever we're doing the presentations, he usually walks through the slides, which is perfectly fine, right? But then, he takes credit and talks about things he figured out and how he debugged it and mentions the things that I messed up (he messes up too, but never mentions those instances). There have been other instances where he said somethings to me which weren't the nicest in the world, but when I called him out on it, he said that a third person might have done it. Now, I'm not sure how to deal with this situation. Typically, I would just communicate it to the person directly, but in this instance, anecdotal evidence tells me that he's just going to deny it (although I could be wrong since I haven't addressed this particular issue with him). That's #1.