How do people get away without understanding?

• Thread starter jd12345
  • Start date
In summary, the professor found that students who understand conceptually tend to do better than students who just memorize steps to solve problems. He also feels the same way as you, that is, that some people just memorize and don't understand the concepts.
jd12345
Ok so here I am studying - trying to understand the concepts and ideas behind something. Well some of the guys in the class just race through it. I am surprised as it seemed like a really difficult and abstract concept to get your mind around.

When asked for help I realized that they didn't truly understand the concept. However it was sufficient for them to score marks and ace through the exam.
Why is this? I spent a whole lot of time understanding the concept and I guess I have a much better understanding than them.

But in the exams, you can get away without understanding the idea behind it. Why?

I sometimes feel frustrated wasting my time to get my head around a particular idea while others just learn how to solve problems realted to the concept and the basic know-how

Physics news on Phys.org
It's important to manage one's time. Completely understanding everything isn't always desirable. Often there is little practical advantage to knowing more about something than how to use it, for instance: when performing a series of experiments someone with mostly functional knowledge could perform just as well as someone with total and have far more time to study other things.

Obviously this is not always the case but this is worth bearing in mind.

Last edited:
Ryan_m_b said: