Give some suggestions about minor

In summary, the conversation discusses the speaker's major in physics and their struggles with finding a job after college. They express frustration with the requirements for most careers in physics and engineering, as well as their dislike for programming after taking one semester of computer science. The conversation then moves on to discussing minor options that could lead to better job prospects, such as actuarial work with a math or statistics minor. The speaker also mentions the importance of internships, career counseling, and researching job opportunities early on. They also mention that computer science classes tend to improve near the end of the second semester.
HTT
My major is physics, and this is my second year of college. I looked those jobs on AIP and it really makes me nervous... Why most careers need PhD physics and Engineering?! :L I'm frustrated right now. I took one semester of computer science; I found that programming is not my thing. :mad:Give me some suggestions about minor so that I have better chance to get a job after 4 years colloge. Thank you all~ ! o0)o0)o0)o0)o0)o0)o0)o0)o0)o0)Oh~ and two more things, what is the best time to take a minor? What grade should I get so that my gdp will be high enough like 3.75..

Physics news on Phys.org
One programming class sounds like it could be a little premature to conclude it's not your thing. It's probably not too late to change your major to engineering. Computer science is one of the few minors that's worth anything.

You could look into being an actuary, with a math or statistics minor. It should be possible to avoid programming with that career path, but you can make a lot of money. It can be a little tough to break into, though.