Geologist/Engineer interested in cosmology and consciousness

• Thread starter Lenny Briscoe
  • Start date
In summary, a geologist or engineer who is interested in cosmology and consciousness is someone who has a deep curiosity about the origins and workings of the universe, as well as the nature of consciousness and its connection to the physical world. This individual may have a strong background in science and mathematics, and seeks to bridge the gap between the study of the physical world and the mysteries of consciousness. They may explore topics such as the origins of the universe, the possibility of extraterrestrial life, and the role of consciousness in shaping our understanding of reality.
Lenny Briscoe
How did you find PF?
By accident. I thought I was in Quora.
I am a retired engineering geologist and civil/geotechnical engineer. I've been thinking a lot about the significance of human consciousness as the universe looking at itself - not in any magical, metaphysical way, rather how it relates to what we know and don't know about the physics underlying the universe.

Anyway, I took 15 units of physics (classical, E&M, modern) in college and 13 units of calculus, but no diffEQs or linear algebra, so ... don't pick on me. I'm interested mostly in astrophysics, cosmology and consciousness. I'm here to learn to the extent possible, given the esoterica.

Likes berkeman
Physics news on Phys.org
Welcome to PF. :smile:

We're of less help on philosophical questions about consciousness, but of great help on science questions. Enjoy! :smile:

Likes Lenny Briscoe
berkeman said:

We're of less help on philosophical questions about consciousness, but of great help on science questions. Enjoy! :smile: