First zvs driver+induction coil/heater HOT

• Thread starter 4TheResistance
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Hot
In summary, the person is new to creating a zvs driver and has encountered issues with their inductor and mosfets getting too hot. They have tried using different components, such as a capacitor from a microwave and inductors in parallel, but the problem persists. They are open to suggestions on how to prevent their mosfets from burning up.
4TheResistance
I am making my first zvs driver and when I got it "finished" all it did was get my inductor and mosfets hot, the screwdriver I had in the heater did nothing. I killed the power before any damage was done, I hope. My mosfets are 2 IRFP250n's and I am powering it with a 12V 4A battery charger. My capacitor is from a microwave, 0.80μf and 2100V AC, is this too big?

I am new to most of this so just assume I know nothing. I won't be offended.
I am open to all suggestions and will put a few pics up tomorrow.

7a07a326ac721757eca7f9500f62824b779980e9e98bceaba15d3ea45b74ecf06g.jpg

660fda9845e949da57a638072067283042bc902c67c67026d89a8df3b092cf296g.jpg

a796b5b61699b25e0567d585195c4cb734f42267f32678aa835ac8faf1b828266g.jpg

Last edited:
Engineering news on Phys.org
I just changed the inductor to 4 0f these in parallel.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/120998332098?ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1439.l2649

Still doesn't work. the mosfets climb to 130F very fast but my screw stays cool.

Ok my caps came in the mail today so I switched the monster cap for 3- 1μf 250v in series. My inductors are no longer getting hot but the caps get a "little warm" and the mosfets still get HOT. I can tell its working now though, got a piece of a coat hanger up to 100F but the mosfets were way hotter so I killed the power.

Other than heatsinks(I'm waiting for my thermal grease) is there something I can change to keep the mosfets from burning up?

Related to First zvs driver+induction coil/heater HOT