Exploring Cavity Magnetrons for Energy Research

• Thread starter Charles Bagwell
  • Start date
In summary, cavity magnetrons are an important tool for energy research due to their ability to generate high-frequency electromagnetic waves. These waves are used in a variety of applications, including radar systems and particle accelerators. By exploring the design and operation of cavity magnetrons, researchers can improve their efficiency and effectiveness in generating and controlling electromagnetic radiation. This technology has the potential to significantly impact the field of energy research and contribute to advancements in various industries.
Charles Bagwell
I am a retired Nuclear Engineer with a Senior Reactor Operator certification On 1150 MW General Electric Boiling water Reactors. I also operated a 3,000 MW Coal fired power plant for DTE Energy. (Detroit Edison). I started my Energy training as a E-5 Boiler operator for the US Navy in the Vietnam war era.

For over 50 years I have been investigating exotic energy systems, to find the most energy efficient ones to install in my home, working toward a “Zero” net energy bill from the local electric utility every month. I finally achieved that goal four years ago, with the installation of 12 kw of ground mounted Solar panels. I sell the Electricity they produce to my local Electric Utility at a premium price, which offsets my all electric home’s energy usage.

To help get me to a net “zero” usage, I installed a three ton “Geothermal closed loop heat-pump system operating with a COP of 5.

Also, for the last five years I have been experimenting with Electromagnetic devices to make steam for a three horse power steam engine/generator in my basement shop. Toward that end, I discovered this Physics Review website and a discussion thread on magnetron microwave production.