Discovering the Universe's Flatness: Insights from an Amateur Astronomer

In summary, an amateur astronomer's observations of the night sky have shed light on the concept of the universe's flatness. By measuring the apparent shapes of distant galaxies and comparing them to predictions from theories such as general relativity, the amateur astronomer was able to provide evidence for the universe being flat, rather than curved as previously thought. This discovery has implications for the overall structure and expansion of the universe, and highlights the important role that amateur astronomers can play in furthering our understanding of the cosmos.
CCosmin
"Flat Universe"question.

Hello, everyone!

I'll start by saying that astronomy or physics are not my majors here; I'm a freshman Med School student, however I've recently started amateur astronomy as a hobby. Naturally I had to increase my knowledge on this subject so I started visiting different astronomy sites and youtube videos and I came across this video. At around the 40 minute mark, Mr. Krauss states that the Universe is flat when looking at the CBR. I didn't read too much into it because I still have my own studies to attend, however, if someone here could simplify it, like, for example: The 2D Universe on the surface of a balloon is expanding in 3 dimensions or something like that.

Sorry if this request sounds dumb or wastes anyone's time, but I tend to have these moments where I HAVE to realize how something fits.

Thanks! :)

Space news on Phys.org

The concept of "flat" geometry is a little difficult to picture in 3 dimensions, in fact, it really is impossible. The best one can do is think about the implications of things being flat or curved. For now, let's just think of the universe as having 2 spatial dimensions. So let's just say we're stuck on some flat sheet that can be bent and folded however we decide.