Why doesn't cosmic inflation violate conservation of energy?

In summary: I'm not sure where he's going with this. In summary, Krauss is trying to explain what Guth termed the 'ultimate free lunch': namely, that an extremely small region of space could end up as an observable universe with the correct amount of matter and radiation due to the effects of gravity. However, he does not seem to be including enough information in his explanation for it to be comprehensible to non-physicists.
RogerWaters
TL;DR Summary
Can you help me understand Lawrence Krauss on how cosmic inflation does not violate conservation of energy - due to: (a) the net-zero gravitational energy of objects; and (b) their "negative" relativistic pressure?
Hi all, I'm not a physics student (although I have a PhD in a different field) and so don't have the math, but I'm trying to interpret a key passage from Krauss' book 'A Universe from Nothing' where he is (trying?) to explain, in 'layman's terms', what Alan Guth termed 'the ultimate free lunch': namely, 'How can a microscopically small region end up as a universe-sized region today with enough matter and radiation within it to account for everything we can see'?

I'm trying to follow Krauss' reasoning and I'm not if he is just not including enough in the reasoning for it to make sense because it is too complicated without the math. I understand part (a) of his explanation for why cosmic inflation does not violate conservation of energy, in the (no doubt crude) terms used by Krauss for laypeople, but not part (b).

...(a) The net-zero gravitational energy of objects...