Constructing an Argand Diagram - My First Attempt

In summary, an Argand diagram is a graphical representation of complex numbers on a two-dimensional plane. It is constructed by plotting the real part of the complex number on the x-axis and the imaginary part on the y-axis. Its purpose is to visualize complex numbers and their properties, making it easier to solve equations and understand geometric relationships. The advantages of using an Argand diagram include its intuitive nature and ability to represent complex operations and geometric interpretations. However, it has limitations such as only being applicable to two-dimensional numbers and not being able to represent infinity or have a physical meaning for the positions of points on the graph.
icystrike

Homework Statement

I'm looking at bii) of the question.
Its my very first attempt at argand diagram and i do not really know how to construct one.
attachment.php?attachmentid=23867&stc=1&d=1266867454.jpg

Homework Equations

The Attempt at a Solution

attachment.php?attachmentid=23868&stc=1&d=1266867454.jpg

Attachments

• LGIM0019.jpg
    LGIM0019.jpg
    45.6 KB · Views: 496
  • LGIM0018.jpg
    LGIM0018.jpg
    64.8 KB · Views: 512
Physics news on Phys.org
Hi icystrike! :smile:

Your diagram looks fine …

you've correctly drawn the three roots at -20º, 100º, and 240º. and the line you've drawn is the correct line.

What is worrying you about that? :confused:

cos I'm self-learning and does not have any tutor , thus , I'm here to check with you if I'm on the right track . Thanks tiny-tim ! (=

Related to Constructing an Argand Diagram - My First Attempt

1. What is an Argand diagram?

An Argand diagram is a graphical representation of complex numbers on a two-dimensional plane. The horizontal axis represents the real part of the complex number, while the vertical axis represents the imaginary part. It is named after French mathematician Jean-Robert Argand who first introduced the concept in the 18th century.