Can I ask 'ignorant' questions on this forum?

• Thread starter Nadeen
  • Start date
In summary, "pardon the ignorance" is a phrase used to apologize for a lack of knowledge or understanding on a topic. It is not considered rude and can be used in both casual and professional settings. Other phrases, such as "forgive me if I am mistaken," can also be used to convey a similar meaning.
Nadeen
Hello

As this post suggests, I’m new here. I have no science background but often find myself browsing scientific forums and blogs which compound my sense of inadequacy and ignorance. I yearn to understand things, to be able to filter through faux erudition and general nonsense. A lot of the time it’s pretty straightforward – I just google the subject and read up on it in my own time. However, when it comes to more esoteric topics, like special relativity etc., I hit a wall, big time.

I appreciate this site is catered more toward an academic spectrum of things but I was wondering if it would be at all permissible for someone like me to pose (and I can only apologise for this) really ignorant/stupid questions? (For example, at the moment I have a burning question about spacetime.) And if so, is there some sort of etiquette, or perhaps a particular place where I can do this without too much distraction to the rest of this Forum’s community?

I thought I’d ask and do please tell me if this is not an option. I wouldn’t mind at all and will look for a more appropriate forum.

Many thanks

Nadeen

Likes berkeman
Physics news on Phys.org
:welcome:

Simply go to the Relativity forum and post your question. That is what the forum is here for.

Welcome to PF Nadeen. Answering questions is the purpose of PF. We take questions from beginners as well as experts, so don't be afraid that your question is stupid.

Choose an appropriate forum. For beginners questions on spacetime, General Physics might be the best place.