Additional problems in Classical Mechanics

In summary, the first year physics/biology major is looking for difficult problems to tackle, but is having difficulty finding them. He has tried doing MIT problem sets from the OCW website, but most of them are not very hard. He has also tried solving problems from Kleppner and Kolenkow's Introduction to Mechanics (The book recommended in the course syllabus), but that too was not difficult. He has also tried making up his own problems.
golanor
Hello,
Since I cannot post this in the "Learning Materials" forum, I thought I'll just post it here.
I am a first year Physics/Biology major, and I am currently studying a course in classical mechanics. My problem is that I do not seem to find high level problems in mechanics anywhere online, or in books. I've tried doing MIT problem sets from their OCW website, but most of it, compared to our problems/tests are not very hard.
I've also tried solving problems from Kleppner & Kolenkow's Introduction to Mechanics (The book recommended in our syllabus), but that, too, wasn't difficult.

Does anyone know where I could find some difficult problems to tackle?

Thanks!

Physics news on Phys.org
Maybe try making up your own. For example what is the torque on a telephone pole being lifted by a helium blimp over a lake of water. What buoyant force is required to do this. If the blimp drops the telephone pole in the lake with initial velocity vi, how deep will it go before it floats to the top, or will it sink?

Things like that

That's actually a great idea. Thanks!

I've found that the more surreal problems are usually funnier to solve. For example, how long does a thin upright pole of fixed density have to be in order to float unsuspended in midair at Earth's surface (moving with the Earth's rotation)?

golanor said:
Hello,
Since I cannot post this in the "Learning Materials" forum, I thought I'll just post it here.