A little help with a beginning stats proof

In summary: The statement for n = k-1 is that Pr\left( \bigcup_{i = 1}^{k-1} A_i \right)= \sum_{i = 1}^{k-1} Pr(B_i)excuse the sloppy notation, and AB means A intersect B:Let x be in U(i=1 to n)A_i. Then x is in A_i for some i<=n in I. Then x is in U(i=i to n)B_i, since U B_i = A_1 + A_1cA_2 + A_1cA_2cA_3 + ... + ...A
bennyska

Homework Statement

Let A_1, A_2... be any infinite sequence of events, and let B_1, B_2... be another infinite sequence defined as B_1=A_1, B_2=A_1cA_2, B_3=A_1cA_2cA_3 and so on.
Prove that Pr(Union i=1 to n A_i) = Sum i=1 to n Pr(B_i).
(sorry if that notation is hard to understand)

Homework Equations

The Attempt at a Solution

so I'm somewhat new to statistics proofs, but this one is for the most part a sets proof, which i can do. I'm having trouble connecting them.
(c = complement)(AB = A intersect B)
)

So I've convinced myself that this is true. I see if i take the union of A_i up to n, that B_i up to n is equal. Each B_i is A_i minus any previous As that intersect it. I'm just having trouble saying that in math. If I had to write a proof right now, I'd say each Sum B_i = Union A_i, so they're equal.

So yeah, if i could get some hints on where to start. Thanks.

Physics news on Phys.org
Is it the union from i = 1 to n or the union from i = 1 to infinity?

i=1 to n, although the next proof is the same problem with i=1 to infinity. I'm hoping once i get this proof down that should be a simple extension.

If you accept that probabilities are countably additive, both are easy. What facts are you allowed to assume?

so do you mean [itex] B_2=A_1^c \cap A_2 [/itex]?

if so you should be able to show the sets are equivalent & the probabilities will follow...

Math induction seems to me that way to go. The base case is trivial, since A1 = B1.

Assume that the statement is true for n = k - 1, and show why the statement must be true for n = k.

The statement for n = k - 1 is