Writing a Novel....Have a quandry/qustion

• Thread starter Jeffdawgfan
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Writing
In summary, Jeff, you can choose either option. If you want your ship to have mass, then it will have inertia. If you want it to be massless, then the ship and its crew will have no inertia. It all depends on your story.
Jeffdawgfan
I am a science fiction author working on my fifth book. I have a question regarding mass and inertia that I thought maybe I could get some input/insight here.

And this is for science fiction...

If there existed the mechanism to make a small spaceship massless by the means of a supposed mass cancellation field, would the ship, its crew, and objects contained within still have inertia. In the book I am writing a discovery is made where such a device is discovered. If this was possible, even a small propulsion device could easily accelerate the ship with no mass to speeds nearing that of light very easily and needing very little power. What would happen if the direction of that ship was suddenly changed...ie..the direction of the force of thrust was changed. Would the ship instantly change direction or would the ship/crew/cargo still have inertia even though while in the mass cancellation field they effectively had no mass. Or...would the ship still have inertia/Delta V that would have to be erased to change direction. Also if the ship could be accelerated very quickly because it had not mass would it tear the ship apart due to inertia stresses or would there be no inertia.