Wish to help out in a research lab, which comp lang to learn?

In summary, the speakers discussed the importance of learning programming languages for research positions, particularly in engineering related fields. They advised exploring different research areas and determining which languages are commonly used in those areas. It was also suggested to focus on learning computing principles rather than specific languages.
kougou
Hello
I am a undergrad electrical engineering student. I took two courses on C before. With C, this seems to be not enough because I am hoping to help out in some engineering related research project at school.

Currently, I have no idea what type of research I am looking for. I am just wondering, out of all comp lang out there, which one is used the most in the research lab? C++/ phyron, etc...

I am looking for any advice on getting a research position or helping out in a research lab.

Thank you all.

Physics news on Phys.org
This is research group specific. I can tell you common ones, but that's not necessarily going to help.

any suggestion? is this question too broad or what?

I think the question is too broad. If you aren't sure what type of research you want to do, its hard to recommend a specific language to learn. MatLab is useful, so is C, so is R, as well as others. It'd be best if you looked around at what research seems cool and then look up what languages those profs are using.

kougou said:
Currently, I have no idea what type of research I am looking for. I am just wondering, out of all comp lang out there, which one is used the most in the research lab? C++/ phyron, etc...

I'm studying to be a biologist, so I was wondering what kind of chemical I should brew up in my home chemistry set in order to be the most helpful in some unspecified bio lab.

What the hell is phyron? That sounds adequately obscure that nobody will have heard of it.