Finding a research topic in the Aerospace field

• Other
  • Thread starter mimi10
  • Start date
mimi10
Hello everyone !
I'm an aerospace engineering graduate. This might be weird for everyone to come up with this type of title. Tbh, I've always given a topic to make case study or work on, so I barely have any idea about how to find a research topic in aerospace field. Like, I just go and hit a topic lets say "aerospace propulsion". I see lot of things popping up with vast number of subtopics which i'm unable to know what trend is moving on. What can I research on about after becoming an engineer ?. How to search for a new topic ? How can I stick on to the trend of Aerospace field ? How do you all do it (Searching for a topic - learning 'bout research gap) !?

At the end do suggest me some free resource like magazines and stuffs that are freely available.

Note: I neither had a career guidance mentor throughout my academic year in undergrads. I took a year off to know what I want. The most advice I've ever heard was to pursue specialization degree in order to keep on with research and development field.

Physics news on Phys.org
Your first step is to find a research advisor. It is not realistic to expect to perform well in research before someone shows you how to do it.

• Informative
Likes mimi10
That's why people enter PhD programs. :wink:

• Wow
Likes mimi10 and Vanadium 50
@mimi10 . In your other thread, you said you wanted to become a propulsion engineer and wrote:

mimi10 said:
I'm a college graduate. I want to pursue masters in the states, but they are asking me to have minimum 3 years of in-field experience in aerospace sector. It has been a year or so and I'm unable to shout for myself in the mass area crowd for myself in entry level position since experienced people are applying more and getting placed ;-;.