DOE SULI Advice For Biology Background - Renewable Energy Development

In summary, the speaker is an upperclassmen undergrad with a background in biochemistry and molecular biology, as well as some coursework in chemistry and physics. They have completed three summer research projects in the fields of functional genomics, enzyme kinetics, proteomics, and structural characterization. They have also completed a two-semester mass spectrometry based metabolomics project. They are interested in applying for a semester-based SULI in spring 2024 focused on biofuel and renewable energy development, but are concerned about their lack of formal training in upper division chemistry and physics. They are seeking advice and experiences from others who have participated in SULI or worked at national labs as an undergrad.
Lance123
Hi Everyone! I am an upperclassmen undergrad of a biol background, with mainly course training in biochemistry and molecular biol, and taken chem like o-chem and a-chem, and introductory physics. I have three short term summer projects at top 5 institutions in the past and in the field of functional genomics, enzyme kinetic, proteomics, and structural characterization via x-ray crystallography. I have also completed a two semester mass spec based metabolomics in high independence from scratch of experimental design.

I am interested to apply to a semester based SULI in spring 2024 on biofuel and renewable energy development. However, I am afraid that having no formal course training in more upper division chemistry and physics, it might held me back a bit. Though of course I believe that I could learn a lot especially considering that my research have been extensively adopting analytical chemistry instruments.