Which US company internship should I pick?

In summary, the speaker is an Industrial Engineering graduate currently pursuing a master's degree in Manufacturing Engineering in Europe. They have the opportunity to seek an internship in the US and are considering factors such as salary, industry recognition and career prospects, and location. They are open to both a prepared list of companies and applying to companies of their choice. The other person advises them to focus on the opportunity first, followed by salary and location, and recommends aiming for a high-visibility position with potential for a job offer after graduation. They also highlight the potential of a meaningful internship as a pathway to a first job.
Butters
I'm an Industrial Engineering graduate currently enrolled in Manufacturing Engineering master studies in Europe. I have an opportunity to seek for internship in US. Don't have any particular strengths, just been working in tobacco manufacturing for a year.

I guess my determinants are:
1. Salary (only paid internships, the higher the better)
2. Opportunities within the industry (international recognition, career perspectives)
3. State (interesting people, beautiful environment)

Once I have some idea, I will be able to target chosen companies specifically.

Physics news on Phys.org
The one you get an offer for is usually a safe bet

artfullounger said:
The one you get an offer for is usually a safe bet
I could apply for a prepared list of companies but I could also give it a chance to go for the ones of my choice. It's just that there're so many advertisements all over the states that I need to somehow narrow down my choice.