Which IB science course should I choose: Physics, Chemistry, or Biology?

In summary, the conversation is about a sophomore struggling to choose between IB Physics, IB Chemistry, and IB Biology for next year. The person is considering fields in Pharmaceuticals, Biophysics, and Nutrition and is seeking advice. One person recommends Chemistry and Biology for those fields, while another suggests Physics and Chemistry, but ultimately agrees that Chemistry and Biology would be the best choices. There is also a mention of Biology requiring a lot of memorization, but still being enjoyable.
Benzene_ring
Hi Guys,

I am currently a sophomore and I am having some trouble choosing between IB Physics, IB Chemistry, and IB Biology. I can select two of these courses for next year but I can't seem to make a decision. All of them will be helpful for the fields I am thinking of going into, and they all seem like really enjoyable classes but I simply cannot choose between them. Any advice would be much appreciated.

Physics news on Phys.org
What fields are you considering to study in college?

I am considering Pharmaceuticals, Biophysics, and Nutrition

Nice, those are interesting fields! I would advise Chemistry and Biology.

Just be prepared for a lot of memorization in Biology - that's a field that requires an immense knowledge base.

I'm currently taking IB Physics (HL) and Chemistry (SL) and they're both really fun. Biology isn't really my thing mainly because of what lisab said- lots of memorization (and not much interesting stuff going on, but that's just my opinion). In my biased opinion I'd tell everyone to take physics and chemistry. But considering the fields you're planning to go into, I'd honestly have to say Chem and Bio. (Although IB Physics is *really* fun!)

Related to Which IB science course should I choose: Physics, Chemistry, or Biology?

1. Should I take IB Physics?