Where Can I Find a Comprehensive List of Special Matrices Used in Physics?

In summary, there are several types of matrices commonly used in physics such as diagonal, identity, hermitian, transpose, and unitary matrices. These can be found in Linear Algebra textbooks or math handbooks, with Friedberg and Anton being recommended options.
RJLiberator
Gold Member
Is there any chart/graph/website online or in a ebook that has a clear concise list of special matrices used in physics?

I'm just getting into an intro to quantum mechanics class and we are going over all types of matrices, Identity, hermitian, diagonal, transpose, unitary, and so on.

I want to make a poster for my room of all the different types so I understand them well, but I can't seem to find a decent and clear list of most of the special matrices used.

Physics news on Phys.org
RJLiberator said:
Is there any chart/graph/website online or in a ebook that has a clear concise list of special matrices used in physics?

I'm just getting into an intro to quantum mechanics class and we are going over all types of matrices, Identity, hermitian, diagonal, transpose, unitary, and so on.

I want to make a poster for my room of all the different types so I understand them well, but I can't seem to find a decent and clear list of most of the special matrices used.
What matrices you list aren't that special. Some are matrices, some are matrix operations, some are types of matrices ...

A diagonal matrix is a square matrix where the only non-zero entries are located on the main diagonal.

The identity matrix is a special diagonal matrix where all of the non-zero entries are 1.

The transpose of a matrix is taking all the rows of a given matrix and writing them as the corresponding columns.

Hermitian and unitary matrices you can look up the definition.

A lot of LA facts are given in Math Handbooks. These are a good tool to have, just like having a Physics or Chemistry handbook.

Likes RJLiberator