What would you think of a statistics major?

In summary, the individual is interested in mathematics, programming, and chemistry, but not physics. They are considering a degree in statistics with a background in math and computer science, but also have interest in actuarial or statistical work. They have been advised that a higher degree may be necessary for more interesting statistical work, and that a strong background in mathematics and programming is important. They are also open to pursuing chemical engineering or molecular designing, and are studying physics as a potential fallback option. They have a preference for hands-on work with tangible impact and are not interested in extended computer use.
rolledoats
Hi there,

I enjoy mathematics, programming, and chemistry. However, I don't enjoy physics at all and I'm not good at it (if it's okay to say that on PhysicsForums haha). I think that makes engineering an unlikely path for me.

Degrees in math or computer science at my university require physics; for statistics, my chemistry background would be sufficient. My question is: would a statistics degree accompanied by substantial coursework in math and computer science would be sufficient for a career in those areas? I might like actuarial or statistical work as well, but I don't know that yet.

Thanks for your help!

Physics news on Phys.org
rolledoats said:
Hi there,

I enjoy mathematics, programming, and chemistry. However, I don't enjoy physics at all and I'm not good at it (if it's okay to say that on PhysicsForums haha). I think that makes engineering an unlikely path for me.

Degrees in math or computer science at my university require physics; for statistics, my chemistry background would be sufficient. My question is: would a statistics degree accompanied by substantial coursework in math and computer science would be sufficient for a career in those areas? I might like actuarial or statistical work as well, but I don't know that yet.