What unique experiences have shaped this software engineer's career path?

• Thread starter Rodger B. Null
  • Start date
Rodger B. Null
Hey!
I am a software engineer by trade (degree in Physics).

I worked as a contractor at NASA for ten years (mostly on Shuttle and Space Station Freedom). After we all got laid off I started working as a software developer/engineer.

While I have worked with most of the mainstream languages most of what I have done has been in a language called MUMPS or M in the Hospital Information Systems.
I'm approaching retirement and would like to get back into the physics world again (and autonomous robotics).

I speak Castillian Spanish and can get by on Portugues (I have live in both Spain and Portugal), I was in the U.S. Army (medic) and the USMC.

Rodger B. Null

Physics news on Phys.org
Welcome to PF!

I've been checking out robotics too. I found a couple of interesting books on the subject:

Robot Builders Bonanza

https://www.amazon.com/dp/0071750363/?tag=pfamazon01-20

and Make a Raspberry-PI robot:

https://www.amazon.com/dp/1457186039/?tag=pfamazon01-20

The second book had a reference to a motor part for electric car seats that spins at 190rpm at 12VDC at $15 which seemed ideal for my project.

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B005IR1NBA/?tag=pfamazon01-20

Once again, welcome to PF!

Hey! The vehicle I am eworking on (VERY slowly :) ) is an autonomous underwater vehicle. I have most of the hardware which I have been purchasing of the last last few years (ballast valves, motor (though I will probably get a different small one) and the like).

I am planing on using an RPi for the upper level functions (Mission script management, planning and overall supervision) and a second RPi B 2+ for the more mathematically intense stuff. I will be using an Arduino Due for most the actual subsystem controlling.

It has only been in the last month or so that I have started playing the hardware and the software that controls it (the Arduino part).